True Grit Award

C & R Racing True Grit Award (co-sponsored by IMIS)

Willie Davis (center) receives the 2014 True Grit Award from C&R Racing owner Chris Paulsen (left) Sunday at Indianapolis Motor Speedway.

Willie Davis (center) receives the 2014 True Grit Award from C&R Racing owner Chris Paulsen (left) Sunday at Indianapolis Motor Speedway.

The True Grit Award acknowledges dedicated crew chiefs and mechanics in the motorsports industry. Established in 1998 by Chris Paulsen, the $5000 cash award exemplifies outstanding achievement in racing and honors a fellow colleague.

Chris Paulsen is President of C & R Racing, Inc. C&R manufactures and distributes parts and equipment including complete cooling systems, chassis and drivetrain components and wind tunnel models. In addition, C&R is the largest and preferred supplier of custom all-aluminum radiators to NASCAR Sprint Cup, Nationwide and Craftsman Truck Series. C&R is also the preferred supplier to Indy Car, late model, open wheel, off-road, and various sports car series. C&R utilizes the latest in CNC machine tools, metal fabrication equipment and CAD/CAM technology.

IMIS is a co-sponsor of this award for the 2011 Indianapolis 500. International Motorsports Industry Show (IMIS), established in 2009, is one of the fastest growing trade shows in the country.  Dedicated to the hardcore racing industry, IMIS offers individuals and companies from all facets of the racing business the chance to interact, share ideas and products, build relationships and attend seminars to improve motorsports business around the world.  For 2011 IMIS expects over 650 hardcore racing companies and over twenty thousand attendees.  The Indianapolis-based show is owned by Chris Paulsen of C&R Racing, Tom Weisenbach, executive director of the Indiana Motorsports Association (IMA), Jeff Stoops, president of Stoops Freightliner and two-time NASCAR Sprint Cup Series champion and Indiana resident, Tony Stewart.  The third annual IMIS is set for Dec. 8-10, 2011 in the newly remodeled Indiana Convention Center in downtown Indianapolis. For more information, log onto

The C & R Racing/IMIS True Grit Award is given to a deserving recipient based on years of experience, outstanding achievement, overcoming adversity, excellence in preparation, and the dedication to the highly skilled trade of working on Indy Cars. This year’s $5000 will be presented on Sunday evening, May 22 after the final day of qualifications.

Former Indianapolis 500 True Grit winners include: Kyle Moyer, Andretti Green Racing; Mitch Davis, Target Chip Ganassi Racing; Rick Long, Speedway Engines; Clive Howell, Marlboro Team Penske; John O’Gara, A.J. Foyt Enterprises; Craig Baranouski, A.J. Foyt Enterprises; Owen Snyder Jr., Eddie Cheever Racing; John King, A.J. Foyt Enterprises; Rick Rinaman, Marlboro Team Penske; Dennis Lacava, Hemelgarn Racing; the “Newman/Haas/Lanigan Mechanics” who included Tim Coffeen; Tim Homberg, John Tzouanakis along with Davey Evans, who passed away during the month; Paul “Ziggy” Harcus, Andretti Autosport; Gary Rovazzini, Target Chip Ganassi Racing; John Haslett, Penske Racing; Willie Davis, Chief Mechanic of Gary & Tony Bettenhausen.

Former Brickyard 400 True Grit winners include: Jimmy Fennig, Roush Racing; Robby Reiser, Roush Racing; Ray Evernham, Evernham Motorsports; Tony Glover, Chip Ganassi Racing; Jimmy Maker, Roush Racing; Barry Dodson, Eel River Racing; Buddy Parrott, Roush Racing; Glen & Leonard Wood, Wood Brothers Racing; Greg Zipadelli, Joe Gibbs Racing, and Ken Howes, Hendrick Motorsports.

For further information contact:
Debbie Paulsen
Chris Paulsen
Or visit us in our accessory room N7E located in the garage area.

Winners of the True Grit Award

2014 Winner – Willie Davis

2013 Winner – John Haslett

2012 Winner – Gary Rovazzini

2011 Winner – Paul “Ziggy” Harcus