Race Report July 31, 2017

Kyle Busch breaks winless drought, adds Pocono to his list of winning tracks

Photo by Jeff Zelevansky/Getty Images (from nascar.com)


After a 36-race losing streak — the longest of his career — Kyle Busch picked up his first career victory at Pocono Raceway on Sunday. Busch had led over 1100 laps in 2017, but for a range of reasons could not take it all the way.

Busch, in his No. 18 Joe Gibbs Racing Toyota, and using PWR Performance Products, overcame a competitive field and rebounded from last week when he and Martin Truex Jr. wrecked on a restart while both cars were on the front row with less than 50 laps remaining.

Busch took advantage of Kevin Harvick getting loose, passed him on Lap 144 of 160 and drove away with the victory. It was the 100th win for Toyota in the Monster Energy Series, and it was JGR’s second win this year.

Harvick came home second in his Stewart-Haas Racing No. 4 Ford, with Martin Truex Jr., Denny Hamlin and Brad Keselowski rounding out the top five-all using C&R and PWR cooling products. 

Formula 1

Sebastian Vettel overcame steering issues to win a tense Hungarian Grand Prix and head home a Ferrari one-two.

The race got underway in near perfect fashion with a textbook start from the Ferrari duo.

The pair controlled the field into the first corner while further back contact between the two Red Bull drivers saw Daniel Ricciardo’s race end after just three corners.

Vettel struggled throughout the race with his car pulling to the right, hampering his pace and allowing those behind to remain in touch throughout the 70-lap race.

Vettel held off Ferrari Formula 1 teammate Kimi Raikkonen and Mercedes’ Valtteri Bottas to clinch victory.

2 of the Top 3 podium winners use PWR Performance Products.

Super Cars

Chaz Mostert held off points leader Scott McLaughlin and a hard-charging Shane van Gisbergen to secure his second Supercars win of the season at Queensland Raceway.

A fitter and more focused Chaz Mostert is delivering career best form. The 25-year-old has led the Pro-drive charge this season and is the only driver outside of Triple Eight and DJR Team Penske to stand on the top step of the podium.

There were contrasting fortunes for front-row starters McLaughlin and Mostert; while the Pro-drive Ford made a blinder of a jump and bolted into the lead, McLaughlin was tardy off the line and dropped back to fourth, behind Jamie Whincup and Fabian Coulthard.

The foursome ran effectively nose-to-tail across the first stint, points leader Scott McLaughlin at the end of the train but unable to make a clean pass on teammate Coulthard. On Lap 11 DJR Team Penske made the call to pull McLaughlin out of the pack, bringing him in for his first stop.

McLaughlin cemented second place on the podium, ahead of Van Gisbergen.

All cars in the series use PWR Performance Products.

Newgarden Wins at Pocono

Photo from indycar.com


After an early pass on pole sitting Team Penske-Chevrolet teammate Will Power, Josef Newgarden had everyone handled for the rest of the afternoon in his most convincing performance of the year.

Newgarden takes over the series lead as Power and Graham Rahal rounded out the podium.

The #2 Team Penske Chevrolet driver ran close behind team-mate Power in the opening laps before catching the Toowoomba boy by surprise at Turn 4 on Lap 13.

Newgarden was unchallenged for the rest of the 90-lap race as he took a second straight race win and third of the season, but his first at Mid-Ohio.

All vehicles in the race use PWR Performance Products.


Toyota’s rookie star Esapekka Lappi held on for his maiden WRC win in Rally Finland, despite sustaining rear-left wheel damage in the penultimate stage.

Behind Lappi, the trio of M-Sport’s Teemu Suninen, DMACK’s Elfyn Evans and Toyota’s Juho Hanninen had been locked in an ultra-close battle for second with two stages left.

Suninen, in his second main-class rally, looked set to pull away from the pair on SS24, but lost the car at high speed, sustaining a big hit to the front of his Ford Fiesta WRC and losing almost 20 seconds.

This left Hanninen and Evans to duke it out for runner-up, with the Toyota man entering the Power Stage - the 10km Oittila – a second ahead.